Sara Levy and the 19th Century Bach Revival

The music of the Bach family music might have gone unnoticed for centuries if it had not been for our family. I knew the music of the Bach family was great music! I knew this great music had to be preserved so I collected as much of it as possible for my library making sure this great music was not lost. As a patron of the arts, I wanted to make sure that the great music of the past was not allowed to die!

I am sure you have heard of my great-nephew Felix Mendelssohn. On Christmas Day of 1825, he was given the manuscript the great St. Matthew Passion, one of Johann Sebastian Bach’s greatest oratorios. In 1829, my great-nephew led the modern premiere (the first performance since the death of Bach) of this great work that led to the 19th-Century “Bach Revival.” I do hope the music of this great master, Johann Sebastian Bach and the music of his sons will live on in concerts and churches for centuries to come.

(This vignette is one of many anecdotes included in the organ and media event,
Bach and Sons
,
performed by David Jordan, Media Artist and Dr. Jeannine Jordan, concert organist.)

One thought on “Sara Levy and the 19th Century Bach Revival

  1. Pingback: Johann Sebastian Bach | Earthpages.ca

Leave a Reply

