Music for Anna Magdalena

(The later years in Cothen as described by Anna Magdalena Bach, JS Bach’s second wife.)

My husband and I have worked together collecting a group of pieces that I can use for my enjoyment, a Little Clavier Book for me, Anna Magdalena. We have included dances, some chorales, and of course some keyboard exercises. Johann Sebastian has also composed five French suites and other pieces for my little book. What a special gift this is. We are so happy.

Prince Leopold of Anhalt-Cothen

Oh, and have you heard? The new princess here in Cothen does not seem to like music very much. It is a sad time for us as we thought we would make our home in Cothen for the rest of our lives working for a generous prince who loves and appreciates music. But now that Princess Friederica Henrietta is around the court, the Prince seems to have forgotten about his musicians and strives only to please her.

My Johann Sebastian is feeling unappreciated and ignored. This is not something he is used to here at Cothen. We have been talking about his desire to return to church music and our boys seem to be inclined to study so my husband wants them to attend a university–something my Johann Sebastian was never was able to do. It will be difficult to leave Prince Leopold, our great patron! But, I guess it is time for the great Johann Sebastian Bach to look for a new job.

(This is one of my vignettes included in the organ and media event, Bach and Sons, created and performed by Dr. Jeannine Jordan, concert organist, with David Jordan, media artist.)

Leave a Reply

